Fear

I have had the same embarrassing fear since the age of six. My uncle decided that it would be a good idea to let a young child watch a scary movie, which has haunted me ever since.

I do not keep it a secret that I struggle with several mental illnesses, but I don’t typically say what helps me cope with them; I have several coping skills, but my last line of defense is watching my favorite VeggieTales from when I was a kid. A few days ago, I felt myself drawn to Esther and the Girl Who Became Queen. This has always been one of my favorites, but as an adult there is one particular song in this particular VeggieTales that deeply resonates within me:

The battle is not ours; we look to God above

for He will guide us safely through

and guard us with His love.

I will not be afraid, I will not run and hide

for there is nothing I can’t face when God is at my side

No, there is nothing I can’t face when God is at my side.

The battle is not ours; we look to God above

for He will guide us safely through

and guard us with His love.

All too often, we try to “fix” ourselves of our fears and shortcomings when we should be focusing on God. If we focus on God and His love, one day we won’t be afraid of anything because we know that there is someone much stronger that can face whatever ails us with no problem. We have someone that can battle these fears for us because there is nothing we can’t face when God is at our side.

Leave a Reply

