Why I need feminism

This morning I woke up and put $40 on my face. Yesterday I put $40 on my face and $10 on my hair.

It took $50 to have a profound self-realization that my beauty comes from God. $50 so I can be “accepted” in our society. If we include perfume and nails, I put a total of $65 on my body so that I wouldn’t be judged for not meeting up to the beauty standards of America.

I put $65 on my body to be checked out by guys twice my age and forced to accept it as a compliment. I put $65 on my body so that grown men can sexualize my body as if I were a piece of fresh meat because they took my smile as flirting.

I put $65 on my body to be mentally put on a platter so that a 40 year old can get off to a teenager that put on makeup and a nice outfit to feel confident. Why should I have to put so much money on my body to be sexualized or judged based on my appearance.

I am a human being.

Not a fetish.

Leave a Reply

